Friday, August 18, 2017
Text Size


Sports News

King Cup Winners colaiste Ide agus Iosef

Colaiste Ide agus Iosef, won their first Munster title last Friday when they overcame CBS (the green) Tralee in terrible conditions in Castleisland. The King Cup final, a competition for junior sides, in Munster Rugby finished on a scoreline of 23-5 in favour of the new school. In a hard fought game the Abbeyfeale squad kept the upper hand through the first half.  They came out after half time determined to put their stamp totally on the game. Two tries from Keith Murphy along with 13 points from the boot of Cormac Roche helped to propel the county Limerick school to this historic first and a place in the mungret shield competition.

Full Report from Abbeyfeale RFC correspondent here

Abbeyfeale Girls choosen for Munster Rugby squad: Colaiste Ide agus Iosef were delighted to have three players (Maura Collins, Emily Hawkins and Rebecca Dineen) from our girls rugby team chosen to be part of a Munster squad.  Here, Jim Tierney (Principal) meets with Amanda Greensmith, (Youth Development Officer), John Moloney (Youth Development Officer) and the successful students.

Abbeyfeale Girls choosen

Senior Boys team in advance of meeting with SMI

Colaiste Ide agus Iosef    3-13

SMI Newcastle West        1-13

(report by Daniel Daly)

Newcastle West dominated the early stages of this senior boys West Limerick clash. They were rewarded with the first point when a mistake by the Abbeyfeale defence let the Newcastle centre forward through on goal to tap the ball over the bar. In the fifth minute Colaiste Ide agus Iosef boys were back in it with a fine point from play by Adam Barry. Another point from Adam, a minute late had Abbeyfeale in front. A few minutes later Darren Keane put Abbey two points up. This was followed by a pointed free in the the 11th minute by Adam Barry from 40 yards out . Following great work by the half forward line, TJ Lane scored a point from 20 yards out to make Abbeyfeale 0-5 on the scoreboard. Then some hard work from Newcastle paid off with a point from their corner forward. A minute later Newcastle were awarded a free and got another fine score. At this stage the game was evenly matched with both teams putting tremendous pressure on their opposition
A free and a point from play brought Newcastle to within a point of Abbeyfeale before the glorious Adam Barry stepped up to score Abbeyfeale’s seventh point. However a few minutes later Newcastle’s ever reliable free taker obliged with another point.
Then in the dying moments of the first half Newcastle got a goal when their full forward responded quickest to a breaking ball and tapped the ball into the Abbeyfeale net. Immediately though a response from the tenacious Ryan Carroll left Abbeyfeale within one point of SMI at half time, 1-6 to 0-8.
The first ten minutes of the second half were very hard fought with only one point from Jack Breen been added to the scoreboard although a great pass from Eamon Prendiville to Ryan Carroll almost brought Abbeyfeale its first goal, but the SMI keeper denied with a brilliant save. Then after ten minutes a goal and a point from Shane Murphy saw Abbeyfeale regain the lead. Points were exchanged before Abbeyfeale got a reward for some great football with their second goal from Darren Keane following on from a pass by Shane Murphy. However Newcastle West refused to lie down and in the ten minutes that followed they tagged on five more points to leave them only two points behind. However in the last three minutes Abbeyfeale responded strongly with points from Adam Barry, Eamonn Prendiville and a last minute goal from Shane Murphy seeing them winning by a six point margin.
Team: Conor Kiely, Denis Greaney, Tommy O Keeffe, Keith Hartnett, Paddy Lane, Jake Quirke, Darragh Quirke, Adam Barry, Kieran Lucey, Ryan Carroll, Shane Murphy, Darren Keane, TJ Lane, Eamonn Prendiville, Jack Breen. Subs: James O Mara, Daniel Fitzgerald,, Kevin Mahony, Danny Hartnett, Peter Browne, Darren Foley, Cian O’Sullivan, Shane Fitzmaurice, Adrian Enright.

The Senior Boys team from Colaiste Ide agus Iosef also had their first outing in the Munster football competition in the last week of October. They successfully defeated Colaiste Chiarain from Croom 2-15 to 0-6

Latest Tweets

abbeyfealecii Booklists for 2017-18 Fifth year: First Year:
abbeyfealecii RT @HistoryUL: Well done to all involved and of course the winners!
abbeyfealecii In school this morning #tv3news getting the views of some of our students on the new Junior Cycle English exams.

School Policies

Anti-Bullying Policy

Child Protection Policy




Contact Information

School:   Coláiste Ide agus Iosef
Principal: Liam Murphy
Convent St., Abbeyfeale, Co. Limerick
Phone: (00353) 68 30631


Our Location