Saturday, February 23, 2019
Text Size


UL history competition

Four students from Colaiste Ide agus Iosef received prizes last week for their winning entry in a 1916 Centenary Film Documentary Competition, a national competition, organised by University of Limerick History Department

The judges commented  that "The winning film ‘Women of the Rising: A Detailed Account of the Life of Countess Markievicz’ (1868-1927) not only gives us a measured account of her biography, but, nine decades after the death of Countess Markievicz, it also draws attention to the prominent role many women (and not just those from Irish elite society), played in Irish politics and in the Easter Rising whether as individuals or in organisations such as Cumann na mBan."

The presentation took place in the Special Collections section at the Glucksman Library, UL. Prof Anthony McElligott gave the presentation address, followed by the prize giving ceremony performed by Assistant Dean Michael J. Griffin. The winners were Sarah Cusack, Katelyn Broderick, Sarah Delaney and Amy Browne (who was unable to attend the prize-giving). The students were accompanied by their teacher Mr Shane Curtin and Principal Mr Liam Murphy.

Last year the nation commemorated and celebrated the centenary of the Easter Rising 1916, in which the Department of History at UL took an active role, locally, regionally and nationally. A particular highlight of their activities was the organisation of a national symposium in November by Dr Vincent O’Connell: examining the changing interpretation of the two seminal events of 1916 in Irish and British history; The Easter Rising and the Battle of the Somme. ‘In the Name of Future Generations: Approaches to the Meaning of 1916 in 2016’. As part of their prize, a member of the winning Abbeyfeale team, Sarah Cusack opened the symposium in St Mary's Cathedral. 

Photo above shows

Prof Anthony McElligott (Head of Department of History at UL), Mr Liam Murphy (Principal, Colaiste Íde agus Iosef), Dr Michael J. Griffin (Assistant Dean of Academic Affairs, AHSS) and Dr Vincent O'Connell (Department of History, UL) with Sarah Cusack, Katelyn Broderick, Sarah Delaney at the recent awards ceremony for the 1916 Centenary Film Documentary Competition.

The school's award also made it into the University of Limerick newsletter




Latest Tweets

abbeyfealecii Congratulations to our students, whose 'Plastic Fantastic' creation, is on the front page of @Limerick_Leader (all…
abbeyfealecii Congratulations to TYs who were victorious today and are now south west wheelchair basketball champions. Now they g…


Contact Information

School:   Coláiste Ide agus Iosef
Principal: Liam Murphy
Convent St., Abbeyfeale, Co. Limerick
Phone: (00353) 68 30631


Our Location