Sunday, November 27, 2022
Text Size


Trip to the Burren

Some students enjoying time in Burren

On Wednesday, 7th September 2011, the transition year students of Coláiste Íde agus Iosef, Abbeyfeale set off on their journey to the Burren Outdoor Activity Centre.  This trip was to help us the students of the newly amalgamated school to bond.  The trip included activities that would get us working as a team and activities included: hill-walking, kayaking, raft building, body boarding, and rock climbing, caving and orienteering.  These activities helped students to work together and build friendships.  We stayed two nights and three days and the trip was a thoroughly enjoyable experience where we got the opportunity to try out new activities and also the chance to get to know students from the three schools.   A big thanks is also extended to the teachers who supervised on this trip Ms.Reidy, Mr. Vaughan and Ms.Davern.

Class group photographed with their teachers


Relaxing in the outdoors on school trip to the Burren

Abbeyfeale girls chosen for Munster Rugby Squad

Abbeyfeale Girls choosen for Munster Rugby squad: Colaiste Ide agus Iosef were delighted to have three players (Maura Collins, Emily Hawkins and Rebecca Dineen) from our girls rugby team chosen to be part of a Munster squad.  Here, Jim Tierney (Principal) meets with Amanda Greensmith, (Youth Development Officer), John Moloney (Youth Development Officer) and the successful students.

Abbeyfeale Girls choosen

First outings in the football field

Colaiste Ide agus Iosef Junior Boys Team
The first week of October saw teams from Colaiste Ide agus Iosef enter competitive competitions for the first time. On Monday October 3rd, the ladies footballers had their first outing when they took on Colaiste na Sceilge in Munster Ladies Senior A Football. The Abbeyfeale team had an early setback when Laura Sheeran was injured, however her replacement Tara Zgaga competed very well in the middle of the field. Other strong performances by Barbara Browne and Tina Mangan helped to ensure the school held on for a convincing victory. The final score Colaiste Ide agus Iosef 4-8  Colaiste na Sceilge 0-11. On the Tuesday the under 16 boys had their first outing in the Munster Vocational Schools Junior Football competition. Played in Bruff the panel was depleted by the absence of Abbeyfeale based players who were participating with their club in a county semi final that night. Their opponents from Scoi Ruain in Killenaule, Co Tipperary dominated the early proceedings before Colaiste Ide agus Iosef stamped their mark on the game with some fine long range points against a stiff wind. The half time scoreline of 2-8 to 1-2 gave the Abbeyfeale team a cushion to try out some changes and indeed the half time subs would combine to score 2-4 in the second half as the school ran out easy winners on a scoreline of 6-15 to 1-7
Junior Boys football team list
Maurice O Keefffe, Killian Fitzmaurice, Keith Murphy, Darragh Mangan, Cillian Keane, Chris Browne, Pierce Horgan, Aaron O Connor, Shane Fitzmaurice (1-1), Daniel Lyons (0-1), Thomas Sexton, Conor Moroney, Kieran O Donnell (1-4), Eamonn Prendiville (2-5), Michael Keane, Subs: Timmy Finnegan (1-1) (for Michael Keane) , Gavin Dillon (1-2) (for Daniel Lyons), Jamie Lenihan (for Chris Browne), Daniel O Callaghan (for Cillian Keane), Thomas Scanlon (0-1) (for Conor Moroney).

Senior Football victory

Senior Boys team in advance of meeting with SMI

Colaiste Ide agus Iosef    3-13

SMI Newcastle West        1-13

(report by Daniel Daly)

Newcastle West dominated the early stages of this senior boys West Limerick clash. They were rewarded with the first point when a mistake by the Abbeyfeale defence let the Newcastle centre forward through on goal to tap the ball over the bar. In the fifth minute Colaiste Ide agus Iosef boys were back in it with a fine point from play by Adam Barry. Another point from Adam, a minute late had Abbeyfeale in front. A few minutes later Darren Keane put Abbey two points up. This was followed by a pointed free in the the 11th minute by Adam Barry from 40 yards out . Following great work by the half forward line, TJ Lane scored a point from 20 yards out to make Abbeyfeale 0-5 on the scoreboard. Then some hard work from Newcastle paid off with a point from their corner forward. A minute later Newcastle were awarded a free and got another fine score. At this stage the game was evenly matched with both teams putting tremendous pressure on their opposition
A free and a point from play brought Newcastle to within a point of Abbeyfeale before the glorious Adam Barry stepped up to score Abbeyfeale’s seventh point. However a few minutes later Newcastle’s ever reliable free taker obliged with another point.
Then in the dying moments of the first half Newcastle got a goal when their full forward responded quickest to a breaking ball and tapped the ball into the Abbeyfeale net. Immediately though a response from the tenacious Ryan Carroll left Abbeyfeale within one point of SMI at half time, 1-6 to 0-8.
The first ten minutes of the second half were very hard fought with only one point from Jack Breen been added to the scoreboard although a great pass from Eamon Prendiville to Ryan Carroll almost brought Abbeyfeale its first goal, but the SMI keeper denied with a brilliant save. Then after ten minutes a goal and a point from Shane Murphy saw Abbeyfeale regain the lead. Points were exchanged before Abbeyfeale got a reward for some great football with their second goal from Darren Keane following on from a pass by Shane Murphy. However Newcastle West refused to lie down and in the ten minutes that followed they tagged on five more points to leave them only two points behind. However in the last three minutes Abbeyfeale responded strongly with points from Adam Barry, Eamonn Prendiville and a last minute goal from Shane Murphy seeing them winning by a six point margin.
Team: Conor Kiely, Denis Greaney, Tommy O Keeffe, Keith Hartnett, Paddy Lane, Jake Quirke, Darragh Quirke, Adam Barry, Kieran Lucey, Ryan Carroll, Shane Murphy, Darren Keane, TJ Lane, Eamonn Prendiville, Jack Breen. Subs: James O Mara, Daniel Fitzgerald,, Kevin Mahony, Danny Hartnett, Peter Browne, Darren Foley, Cian O’Sullivan, Shane Fitzmaurice, Adrian Enright.

The Senior Boys team from Colaiste Ide agus Iosef also had their first outing in the Munster football competition in the last week of October. They successfully defeated Colaiste Chiarain from Croom 2-15 to 0-6

Latest Tweets

abbeyfealecii Winners of the TUS Sports U15 B Football Final in Mountcollins today, well done to our footballers and their coache…
abbeyfealecii Congratulations to our Under 15 footballers who were crowned county champions in Mountcollins today.
abbeyfealecii RT @AoifD11: The students and staff were delighted to support the Dromtrasna Challenge by holding a non uniform day which raised €1070. The…

Contact Information

School:   Coláiste Ide agus Iosef
Principal: Liam Murphy
Convent St., Abbeyfeale, Co. Limerick
Phone: (00353) 68 30631


Our Location